Lawyer In NJ
People Hire Us When Jail is not an option
What you need to know about Assault Charges In New Jersey
If you have been charged with Simple Assault in New Jersey, the consequences are serious but they are not the most serious Assault charges in NJ.
As criminal defense lawyers located in Hackensack, NJ, our job is to protect you, not scare you.
Of all the Assault Charges under NJSA 2C:12-1, Simple Assault is the least serious.
Simply The Best Criminal Lawyer
“We met with 5 different lawyers and they all seemed fake. We instantly knew when we met with Mr. Peyrouton that he was going to fight for my sister. My sister was in serious trouble but Alan researched and prepared everything and got her case dismissed. If I could, I would give Alan TEN stars because he’s such a fighter. Stop searching and wasting time…call Alan and meet with him first!”."
Exceptional Defense Attorney
Can Simple Assault Charges Be Dropped in New Jersey?
In order for the Prosecutor to drop the case against you, there must be strong proof that no crime was committed.
As your lawyers, it is our job to explain your story to the Prosecutor so that they are convinced to drop the case.
We prepare all of the evidence and file important documents to show that you are innocent.
In this way, the case never goes to trial and you avoid a criminal conviction.
More importantly, you avoid going to jail.
No one ever wants to go to jail for committing a simple assault.
Perhaps you slapped or pushed someone in anger. It happens to the best of us.
Should you really go to jail for something like this?
We fight to keep you out of jail and to keep your record clean.
Can A Juvenile Be Charged With Simple Assault In New Jersey?
A juvenile can definitely be charged with Simple Assault in NJ.
As a matter of fact, after Underage Drinking & Marijuana Possession, the leading criminal charge for juveniles is fighting.
All it takes is a few words (usually after a few beers) and the fight is on.
Next thing the kids know, they are handcuffed and sitting in a police car.
Depending on the victim’s injuries, the State can change the charges to Aggravated Assault.
If this happens, your kid’s life will become a nightmare.
The protection of having juvenile status disappears.
Now, he/she is being treated as an adult and may face the real possibility of prison.
Here’s an article to help you understand the difference:
If your family is in this situation, we offer a Free & Confidential Consultation to help you.
If I was charged with simple assault in NJ,
what are the penalties?
If you are charged & convicted of Simple Assault in NJ, you face up to six months in jail and a $1,000.00 fine.
This is known as a Disorderly Person’s Offense in NJ.
If you got into a “scuffle” or a “consenual fight” also know as “mutual combat”, you will face thirty days in jail and a $500.00 fine.
This is known as a Petty Disorderly Person’s Offense in NJ.
Does it matter if i got arrested for simple assault in NJ because of a domestic violence call?
If you got charged with Simple Assault because of a Domestic Violence call, you have TWO cases against you.
The first case is a criminal matter (Simple Assault).
The second case is a civil matter (Domestic Violence.
Because of the Domestic Violence case you will have a Temporary Restraining Order.
Next, you will have to go to a Final Restraining Order trial.
In NJ, Final Restraining Orders NEVER expire.
Here’s an article to help you understand Final Restraining Orders.
***When you meet with us, absolutely everything we discuss is confidential.***
2 university plaza dr.
hackensack, nJ 07601