Aggravated Sexual assault lawyers
Keep Calm…We Got Your Back
New jersey aggravated sexual assault lawyers
What is Aggravated Sexual Assault?
New Jersey defines sexual assault as a crime in which one person forces another person to have “vaginal intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio or anal intercourse” or to be subject to the “insertion of a hand, finger or other object” in the vagina or anus.
Sexual Assault charges get elevated to Aggravated Sexual Assault if one of the following occurs:
- The alleged victim is younger than 13.
- The alleged victim is 13 to 16 years old, and the defendant is related by blood or other legal means to the minor (such as a legal guardian).
- The alleged sexual assault occurred while another crime was being committed or attempted (such as a kidnapping or a robbery).
- The alleged sexual assault involved physical force that resulted in bodily injury.
- The defendant allegedly had a weapon and threatened to use it during the assault.
- The alleged victim was helpless or incapacitated (such as if the person was unconscious or unable to move), and the defendant knew or should have known that.
Aggravated Sexual Assault charges in NJ are among the most serious criminal charges that a defendant can ever face.
Although you are “Innocent Until Proven Guilty”, the accusation is very hard to defend.
These criminal charges are always prosecuted as either First or Second-degree crimes.
If you plead guilty to a First-degree crime, you are facing up to twenty years in prison.
Depending on the number of charges, you will be sentenced to multiple decades of incarceration.
If you are charged with either sexual assault or even worse, aggravated sexual assault, stop reading this now and call us immediately.
When you are charged with a Sexual Assault in NJ your world comes crashing down.
These criminal charges are painfully humiliating and demoralizing.
If you are a person charged with a sex offense, call us immediately.
The devastating consequences will affect your life, job, and family.
Under investigation for
aggravated sex assault?
As your criminal defense lawyers, we will always advise you to call us before speaking to law enforcement.
We will always protect your Rights.
If the police approach you to get your side of the story, remember to call us first.
Never Speak to the police until you speak with us.
Never Answer police questions until you speak with us.
Never Admit anything to the police until you speak with us.
It is human nature to try and explain your side of things.
The problem is that you never help your situation when you do this.
In fact, you make matters worse.
The tiniest piece of information can get twisted. Let us handle it.
There is always time to talk to the police.
First, call us and let us protect you.
For more about your rights, here’s a great article.
How Do Miranda Rights Work?
What is the statute of limitations for Aggravated Sexual Assault in NJ?
There is no statute of limitations for Sexual Assault in NJ.
In other words, you can be charged many
However, for every other sex offense, the period of time is 5 years.
If you believe that you are being investigated for sexual assault in NJ, contact us immediately.
For more information on the statute of limitations for sexual assault crimes throughout the country, please click here.
What are the penalties for Aggravated Sexual Assault?
Aggravated Sexual Assault is usually charged as a first-degree felony.
This is the most serious offense in New Jersey. Anyone who pleads guilty or who is found guilty of Aggravated Sexual Assault in New Jersey will face the following penalties:
Prison time of 10 to 20 years
No eligibility for parole until 85% of the prison sentence is served
Registration as a sex offender under Megan’s Law
Parole supervision for life
To learn more about how criminal charges are graded in New Jersey, click here.
Can an Aggravated Sexual Assault Lawyer Protect Me?
You do not want to face these allegations alone.
Aggravated Assault Charges are among the most severe charges in NJ.
Anything you say to try and explain your side of the story can harm you.
Take advantage of our Free Consultations and meet with us.
We will listen to your side of the story and answer all of your questions.
If you are being investigated or have been arrested for Aggravated Sexual Assault, you are in for the fight of your life.
HEAR FROM OUR FORMER CLIENTS
What Is Heroin Possession?
Due to the Heroin epidemic New Jersey law imposes very grave consequences on the possession and distribution of heroin.
What Is a Violent Crime In New Jersey?
If you have been charged with a violent crime in New Jersey, you are up against the fight of your life (literally).