Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Keep Calm…We Got Your Back

(NJSA 39:4-129) Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Nobody wants to get into an accident, but it happens. The law says that you must exchange insurance information with the person you got into an accident with. You must also immediately notify the police and give the attending police officer your information.

If you hit a parked car, you must find the owner of the vehicle and give the owner your driver’s license and insurance information. If you cannot locate the owner, you must leave a note where the owner can find it. You must also notify the nearest local police department.

Leaving the scene of an accident is a serious traffic violation.

Leaving the scene of an accident where the only damage is to a vehicle

First Offense
Loss of License: your license will be suspended for 180 days from the date of conviction.
Fine: Fine from $200 to $400.
Jail time: You may be sentenced up to 30 days in jail.

Second and subsequent offense
Loss of License: your license will be suspended for one year from the date of conviction.

Fine: Fine from $400 to $600.
Jail time: You may be sentenced from 30 to 90 days in jail.

Additional Penalties:
Points: Two points are assessed on your NJ license if you get a conviction for leaving the scene of an accident with automobile damage only.

Court costs: Municipal courts in New Jersey assess approximately $33 in court fees.

Auto insurance increase: If you get convicted for leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey, your insurance can go up.

Leaving the scene of an accident where injury or death occurred First Offense

First Offense
Loss of License: your license will be suspended for up to one year from the date of conviction

Fine: Fine from $2,500 to $5,000.

Jail time: You may be sentenced up to 180 days in jail.

Second and subsequent offense
Loss of License: you will receive a lifetime license suspension.
Fine: Fine from $2,500 to $5,000.
Jail time: You may be sentenced up to 180 days in jail.

Additional Penalties:
Points: Eight points are assessed on your NJ license if you get a conviction for leaving the scene of an accident where injury or death occurred.

Court costs: Municipal courts in New Jersey assess approximately $33 in court fees.

Auto insurance increase: If you get convicted for leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey, your insurance will definitely go up.

Need Help Understanding the NJ Ignition Interlock Device Program? Let’s start by explaining that an ignition interlock device is intended to prevent drivers convicted of

If you are charged with leaving the scene of an accident, and serious bodily injury occurred, you may be charged not with a traffic ticket, but with a 3rd degree crime.

Serious bodily injury is an injury that results in permanent disfigurement, protracted loss or impairment of function or movement of any bodily organ or member, or substantial risk of death.

If you are convicted of a Third-Degree Crime you may be sentenced to state prison from 3 to 5 years.

We know the court system, and how best to handle these matters.
Give us a call or fill out a FREE Consultation form.

POPULAR BLOG POSTS

HEAR FROM OUR FORMER CLIENTS

Top Rated NJ Criminal Lawyer

NJ's Criminal Process

54 answers to help you understand your rights in New Jersey

What is Drug Court?

Due to the Heroin epidemic New Jersey law imposes very grave consequences on the possession and distribution of heroin. 

What Is a Violent Crime In New Jersey?

If you have been charged with a violent crime in New Jersey, you are up against the fight of your life (literally).

Close Menu

Peyrouton Law

Request A Free Consultation

We'll get back to you within 10 mins

If you’ve been arrested, come meet with us.
We know the law & we know how to fight.
Call Me now: 201-766-4800
NJ Criminal Defense Lawyer – Alan G. Peyrouton

5/5