Disorderly Conduct - New Jersey

“Keep Calm . . . We Got Your Back”

Disorderly Conduct in New Jersey

Here are few examples of “Disorderly Conduct” in New Jersey.

If you and your spouse have a loud and heated argument in public, you can be charged with Disorderly Conduct.

Or, if you get into a bar fight, you’ll get charged with a Disorderly. (You’ll be lucky not to get charged with Aggravated Assault)

If you fail to obey a Police Officer’s command, you may get charged with this crime. Oftentimes, if you fail to obey a cop’s command, you will get charged with Obstruction of Justice.

Please understand that Disorderly Conduct is a common, yet serious offense. A conviction for this crime can only be Expunged in limited circumstances.

If you are charged, you will need someone who knows the law, and is prepared to protect you and your rights. A conviction for disorderly conduct can have negative and long lasting effects on your life. We are aggressive and dedicated criminal defense attorneys. We can help you.

Surcharges & License Restoration And the hits keep on coming… In addition to the fines and penalties imposed in Municipal Court, drivers convicted of DWI

Under NJ Law (NJSA 2C:20-3)

You may be charged with Disorderly Conduct if you engage in fighting, or threatening, or tumultuous, or violent behavior. Or you may be charged if you create a hazardous or physically dangerous condition that serves no legitimate purpose.

In addition, you may be charged with disorderly conduct if you are in a public place, and you use unreasonably loud and offensive coarse or abusive language, with the purpose to offend someone, or in reckless disregard that it may offend someone.

Consequences & Penalties of Disorderly Conduct

In New Jersey, a Disorderly Conduct charge is a disorderly persons offense (misdemeanor). If convicted, you may be sentenced to the county jail for up to 30 days and have to pay a fine of up to $500. 

In addition, if property was destroyed, or your conduct resulted in some other loss to another party, you may have to pay restitution. You will also end up with a criminal record.

Call us if you are charged with Disorderly Conduct. As criminal defense attorneys we have years of experience in defending people facing charges of disorderly conduct.

You don’t want a silly conviction to ruin your future. Many employers will not hire you if you have a criminal conviction on your record.



Top Rated NJ Criminal Lawyer

NJ's Criminal Process

54 answers to help you understand your rights in New Jersey

What is Drug Court?

Due to the Heroin epidemic New Jersey law imposes very grave consequences on the possession and distribution of heroin. 

What Is a Violent Crime In New Jersey?

If you have been charged with a violent crime in New Jersey, you are up against the fight of your life (literally).

Close Menu

Peyrouton Law

Request A Free Consultation

We'll get back to you within 10 mins