Burglary in New Jersey
Keep Calm…We Got Your Back
Burglary in New Jersey
The State of New Jersey severely punishes defendants convicted of Burglary. Burglary convictions carry long prison sentences and restitution to the victim. These are some of the most serious charges that you can face in New Jersey.
Click on the link to learn more about the Criminal Process in NJ.
If you are charged with Burglary, make an appointment to meet with us in our office. Together we will discuss your case and decide how best to defend you.
Under New Jersey law (NJSA 2C:18-2)
There are three ways that you can be charged with Burglary:
- If you enter a structure, without permission, for the purpose of committing an offense;
- If you remain in a structure, knowing that you do not have permission to be there;
- If you trespass on a utility company’s property, where there is a notice prohibiting trespassing, or where there is a fence or some other structure indicating that trespassing is not allowed.
Consequences & Penalties of Burglary
3rd Degree Burglary
If you are convicted of 3rd degree Burglary, you may be sentenced to 5 years in state prison and pay a $15,000 fine.
A common example includes an ex-employee who breaks into his former place of employment with the intention of stealing computer equipment.
Depending on your record, we will try to get your charges amended to 4th Degree Criminal Trespass and help you avoid a lengthy prison sentence.
If the evidence against you is weak, we may be able to get your charges amended to Unlicensed Entry and you will have to pay a fine.
2nd Degree Burglary
If you injure someone; or
even threaten to injure someone;
or you have a weapon while committing a burglary, you may be charged with a second degree crime.
In that case, you will face up to 10 years in prison and a $150,000 fine.
An example of 2nd Degree Burglary would be a “home-invasion” type situation. You enter someone’s home knowing that they are inside and you use your threats and weapons to strike fear into them. These scenarios are very dangerous and people usually get hurt. In fact, these crimes are categorized as Violent Crimes.
Contact us if you are charged with Burglary. We know the law & we know how to fight. We make it our mission to protect you.
POPULAR BLOG POSTS
HEAR FROM OUR FORMER CLIENTS
NJ's Criminal Process
54 answers to help you understand your rights in New Jersey
What is Drug Court?
Due to the Heroin epidemic New Jersey law imposes very grave consequences on the possession and distribution of heroin.
What Is a Violent Crime In New Jersey?
If you have been charged with a violent crime in New Jersey, you are up against the fight of your life (literally).