Keep Calm…We Got Your Back
What is arson in NJ?
Arson is defined as purposefully and unlawfully starting a fire or causing an explosion.
How serious is an Arson charge in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, there are four recognized degrees of arson.
A conviction for first degree arson will result in 20 years imprisonment.
This involves professional arsonists (hired to commit insurance fraud) or attacks on places of worship.
2nd-degree Arson involves causing a fire that purposely places another person in danger;
intends to destroy another person’s property;
has the purpose of intending to collect insurance money under circumstances that endanger another person;
intends to damage a structure to avoid accountability for zoning laws and regulations;
or that purposefully acts to damage a forest.
3rd-degree Arson is that which puts a person or building in danger.
4th-degree Arson is when someone who is obligated, legally or contractually, to prevent fires doesn’t put the fire out or warn others about it.
If I’m found guilty, how much prison time am I looking at?
1st-degree arson is punishable by 10 to 20 years.
If said arson involves a church, synagogue, mosque or other place of worship, the sentence is 15 years without any possibility of parole.
2nd-degree arson carries a prison term of 5 to 10 years.
A conviction of 3rd-degree arson is punishable by a 5-year prison term.
If you are found guilty of 4th-degree arson you can expect to serve 18 months in prison.
Under the terms of the No Early Release Act, a defendant convicted of aggravated arson must serve at least 85% of the sentence the judge imposes.
Is there any hope for me if I’m suspected of arson?
You may have legal defenses available, but we need to meet with you to discuss your case.
Our rates are affordable, and we are committed to providing the best legal representation possible.
We will make certain to protect your rights and defend you to the max.
Take advantage of our Free Consultation.