New Jersey DWI Lawyers

A DWI conviction can really complicate your life. When you lose your driving privileges, your freedom is limited. Your ability to get to work or go food shopping quickly becomes difficult. When you're facing a drunk driving charge in New Jersey, you need honest & aggressive lawyers.

Your case starts the moment you get stopped. When an officer pulls you over for a traffic offense, the initial encounter is critical. If he suspects that you’ve been driving drunk, every detail of the encounter is critical to your case. It is important to understand how a DWI in New Jersey is prosecuted. We’re here to answer your questions.

NJ DWI Lawyer

A DWI Arrest Is Not An Automatic Conviction

Honestly, drunk driving charges in NJ are very difficult to win. But this does not mean that your case cannot be won. Police officers are human and they sometimes make mistakes. Perhaps they violated your Constitutional rights and your case must be dismissed. Breathalyzer machines also malfunction. Quite often, the machine used to test your breath was malfunctioning or improperly maintained. Never lose hope as there are many ways to win your case.

DWI Types

New Jersey drunk driving charges can arise in many situations.
For example:
• Alcohol with BAC greater than 0.08 percent but less than 0.10 percent
• Alcohol with BAC of 0.10 percent or greater
• Refusing a Breathalyzer or other chemical test
• Underage DWI (Baby DWI)

BAC greater than 0.08 percent but less than 0.10 percent

If your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) was a .08 or .09 on a first offense, then you are facing a 3 month loss of driving privileges.
In addition, you will have to pay court fines & fees, DMV surcharges, and attend 12 hours of classes at a New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).
Please be aware that your insurance premiums will also skyrocket.

BAC of 0.10 percent or greater

If your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) was a .10 on a first offense, then you are facing a 7-12 month loss of driving privileges.
In addition, you will have to pay court fines & fees, DMV surcharges, and attend 12 hours of classes at a New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).

BAC of 0.10 percent or greater

If your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) was a .10 on a first offense, then you are facing a 7-12 month loss of driving privileges.
In addition, you will have to pay court fines & fees, DMV surcharges, and attend 12 hours of classes at a New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).

Refusing the Breathalyzer Test

When you refuse the breath test machine, you will be charged with a separate offense. Even if you win your DWI case at trial, you may still lose your license for refusing to submit to the breath test. Before the breath test is administered, the police must follow certain legal procedures. Their failure to do so may be grounds to dismiss your DWI refusal charge.

Underage DWI

Drinking & driving laws are different for motorists under 21 years of age. If you are under the legal drinking age, it does not matter how much alcohol you have in your system. In other words, your BAC becomes irrelevant. You will be facing a “per se” DWI. This means that the tiniest amount of alcohol in your system will result in a conviction. Even a statement to the police officer that you “had one beer” prior to driving can be sufficient evidence for a drunk driving conviction.

Trials

NJ DWI trials are heard in Municipal Court. You are not entitled to a jury trial in your DWI case. Your trial will take place before a judge. These are called “bench trials”. If you are found guilty, you have an automatic appeal right. You must appeal your conviction within 20 days of your conviction.

Will A DWI Conviction Give Me A Criminal Record?

The good news is that in New Jersey drunk driving is a traffic offense. While the majority of other states classify it as a crime, it is not so in NJ. 

However, once you get a DWI on your driving record, you can never get it off your record. Your conviction stays on your record forever.

Our Approach

Our New Jersey DWI lawyers are committed to fighting your charges. You will benefit from our extensive trial experience. Most importantly, we will be honest about your chances of winning your case. We never guarantee results. However, we absolutely guarantee that we will aggressively fight for you!

Your case is as important to us as it is to you. Your driver’s license is your freedom. We love the fact that each case is different and we welcome the challenge of each case. When you hire us, you will get complete access to us. We respond to all communications & enjoy answering questions. 

Our fees are reasonable and we offer payment plans. While other DWI lawyers in NJ charge insane fees, we offer reasonable flat fees. We appreciate how expensive a drunk driving conviction is. In addition to court fees & fines, your insurance will increase and you will have to DMV surcharges. 

We’re here to help you get through these difficult times.

  • Get Help With Your DWI Case

If you would like to meet with us to discuss your case, we offer FREE consultations.

Close Menu

CAN YOU GET MY CASE DISMISSED?

FREE CONSULTATION ($500.00 VALUE)